HOW TO SPEND A SUNNY DAY IN LONDON: GREENWICH

greenwich10

This morning I woke up to a clear blue sky and that beautiful low winter sunlight that gives even the grey blocks of concrete filled with even greyer suits that make up the view I wake up to every day a golden hue. Since it was my day off I decided to go on a little adventure to take in some of those rays and a little fresh albeit polluted London air.

My favourite place to waste a few hours on such a not very typically English day is Greenwich. Greenwich to me is a small town within the city, therefore perfect if you want to get away from the hustle, bustle and smog of central London.

Greenwich Park is the perfect place for a winter walk, or dare I say it, a run, so I came prepared wearing trainers and my best attempt at a sporty-chic outfit. Going for a run there was amazing, although very hilly and therefore sweaty. A tip from me to you: once you are up on the biggest part of the park which is up on the plateau, do NOT go down until your running app tells you you’re done for the day. To the sporty mummy pushing a pram who overtook me whilst I was panting my way to the top of the hill: I salute you.

Apart from the rich reds and greens that currently make the park an aesthetical pleasure, the squirrels that rummage around add some comedy value. They are fed by people all the time, so have become a bit too bold and unafraid of humans for their own good. It was all fun and games taking pictures of them getting very close to me until one of them crawled up onto my running leggings. I decided squirrels look a lot like rats.

Greenwich8

Although the main attraction in the park is probably the Royal Observatory and the Meridian Line, I think it should be this:

Greenwich5

The best view of London that doesn’t involve paying to go up high buildings in my opinion.

If you get tired of all that nature, peace and tranquillity you can head over to the slightly more hectic (especially on Sundays) market and spend a few pounds at one of the food stalls or on some unique jewellery, clothes or second hand books. And you will be supporting a small business while doing so, doesn’t that just set your heart on fire?

Another beautiful place to spend your money is Meet Bernard, a little shop filled with beauties from Sessun, Ganni, Paul Smith etc. etc. I haven’t actually made a purchase there because: pricey and: rent, but just browsing makes my mouth water.

Greenwich4

If you ever find yourself bored on a sunny London day, Greenwich will not disappoint! There’s an old ship too.

 

Leave a comment